the breakfast dictator [215]

Wish You Were Here | Lancaster, PA

Posted in Breakfast Portraits, Fine Living Lancaster by thebreakfastdictator on August 18, 2010

Erika | Wish You Were Here

First Published in Fine Living Lancaster, Issue 13

It’s so cold out. It’d feel better to stay in bed. It’s warm here. Really warm. But there’s breakfast waiting. Well, it’s not waiting just yet. But it will be. Hurry up. That flannel shirt looks warm and so does the thermal for underneath it. I wonder how close I’ll be able to find parking? I’m late. Man, I’m always late. She’ll be waiting. Better text her and let her know.

The cold January morning was punctuated with splashes of the quick-rising sun. The sun in the winter-time is bitter sweet. In the morning it is beautiful, falsely promising temperatures it could never deliver. On those afternoons, I wish for grey clouds. Grey and winter simply belong to-gether. But on this frigid January morning, the foggy front window and warm yellow glow of this downtown breakfast joint was unbelievably welcoming. Warmer temperatures, hot Square One coffee and pancakes await.

We got a window seat. I love sitting by this window, even when it’s fogged. The light is soft and beautiful, perfect for picture-making. Our waitress, one I’ve not seen here before, came and brought us coffee. Square One coffee. I love that coffee-shop. They’ve got the best coffee around. Sipping it felt so good. This place feels so much like home. I’d put these tables in my kitchen and that wainscot too. I might even paint it green, just like it is here. You know what? I even had a dream about this place last night and it was my home.

The first time I ate here was oh-five or oh-six, maybe? The single-sheet yellow menus haven’t changed since then but I fawned over them like every other time I’m here. I know what I’m gonna order but I mull over every item anyways. While I can’t remember the precise date of my first jaunt here, I do remember what I ordered – the Swedes. These were quite possibly the best pancakes I’ve ever had. I order them ‘most every time I come. And I don’t even like pancakes.

It was good catching up with E, though every once in a while, I’d get distracted by the loud-ish conversation coming from the larger group at the center of the room. Our tone was slightly somber, but as we were caught away by this blithe breakfast experience our mood gladdened about the same time we finished filling ourselves with this fantastic food.

Morning was growing old.

We paid and exited into the bright blue morning.

The sun was still out but it was no warmer.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Jeremy Walter said, on August 19, 2010 at 8:46 am

    So well written. Are you writing these still for Fine Living?

  2. thebreakfastdictator said, on August 19, 2010 at 9:01 am

    No. I haven’t had time the last two issues. Perhaps the upcoming one!


Leave a Reply

